4 Oct

PORTIMAO (Portugal) 4 October, 2012 - Also for this year the Supermoto season is coming to the end with the most important event of the year: the FIM Supermoto of Nations, this year at his Seventh Edition. The track of Algarve will be the scenario to host this big event this week-end on Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th October.

The beautiful International Circuit of Algarve, famous for the organization of the SBK Championship, hosted last season the Supermoto GP of Portugal at the end of September where a surprising Matthew Winstaley won the GP.

This season fourteen Team and twelve the Nations will participate at this important event .

In 2011 the FIM Supermoto of Nations had been hosted by the track of Motorland Alcaniz Teruel in Spain where the France took the Zerbi’s Trophy followed by Great Britain and Finland.

Team France is a very strong nation that won the title also in 2007 and 2010. The Team Manager Bruno Jean-Jacques for this event formed his team in this way: the 2012 Supermoto World Champion Thomas Chareyre, winner of the 2010 FIM Supermoto of Nations , the several times French Champion Sylvain Bydart and Grelier Sylvain.

Marco Vintem, Portugal Team manager , the hosting nation, selected the three strongest riders of the Supermoto Portuguese Championship: André Leite, Nuno Pinto and the new entry André Carvalho . Team Portugal will try to take advantage of racing in front of the home crowd to improve their last year’s thirteenth position.

Team Great Britain is among one of the favorites squad, not only because last season finished second but also because Mattew Winstanley in 2011 won the Supermoto GP of Portugal on this track. David Darden, Great Britain’s Team Mangager has selected the same team of last season: Mattew Winstaley, who has a lot of experience in the Supermoto of Nations, indeed he raced also in 2006, 2007 and 2011, Cristopher Hodgston who races in UEM European Championship and in the British Championship, and Addy James British National Champion in 2009 and seventh in the overall standings in UEM European Championship this season.

Third step of the podium last year was for Team Finland thanks to the outstanding performances of Mauno Hermunen who will not take part this season at the Supermoto of Nations. The Team Manager Timo Letho has selected a new rider Toni Klem, 2011 Finnish Supermoto Champion and second this year, and confirmed Asseri Kingelin and Ville Jauhianen. Every rider of Team Finland has experience from Supermoto of Nations from earlier seasons so the team will be really confident and will fight for the medals.

Another team who has many chances to gain the top three positions is Team Italy who was victorious in 2006 and 2008. Last year the team was fourth but it was really close to bet team Finland. Christian Ravaglia was really unlucky with his bike failure while Massimo Beltrami crashed. This year the Team will count on the experience and talent of Ivan Lazzarini, Supermoto Italian Champion who will do his best to give his country the possibility to finish on the podium.

Last year Team Spain was fifth on the podium and played at home, this season has been training hard, and the goal of Spanish Supermoto Champion Francesc Cucharrera and his teammates Israel Escalera and Alejandro Jover is to finish among the top nations.

For Team France Junior, who finished sixth in 2011, the Team manager Bruno Jean-Jacques, has selected a completely new team: Lucas Berthoux, Maxime Lacour and Germain Vincenot Marchall.

Czech Republic Team is determined to improve their last year seventh position with the 2012 European Champion Petr Vorlicek, Pavel Kejmar, author of a really strong performance in the last Supermoto GP in Carole and Tomas Travicek young rider with strong possiblities.

Unfortunately Team Russia and Team Slovenia will not take part at the event.

Among the 14 Teams taking part in this 7th edition of the FIM Supermoto of Nations, there are other Nations like Austria, Estonia, Latvia, Luxemburg- new entry of this season- and Netherlands.

Click here to see the complete entry list of the 2012 FIM Supermoto of Nations.
In the photo: International Circuit of Algarve view

Latest news