6 Dec

FUNCHAL (Portugal), 6 December 2011 - The second edition of the FIM Gala Ceremony took place last Sunday at the Estoril Casino, in Portugal.

At the ceremony presented by motorcycling's most famous female TV face Suzi Perry, the 2011 FIM World Champions were awarded by motorcycling legends such as Angel Nieto, Carl Fogarty, Eric Geboers, Yjro Vesterinen, Giovanni Sala, Tony Rickardsson and Iris Kramer.

Adrien Chareyre, 2011 FIM SuperMoto World Champion, was one of the stars of this unique event which also crowned and rewarded the positive racing season of the French Superider.

During the ceremony the Champion of the Champion, FIM Rookie of the Year, FIM Woman of the Year, FIM Personality of the Year, were also announced after having been voted by fans, media, riders, teams and industry over the previous weeks. The three awards went respectively to Maciej Janowski (FIM Speedway Under 21 World Champion), Laia Sanz (FIM Women's Trial World Champion) and Carlos Checa (FIM Superbike World Champion).


Photo: FIM/Good-Shoot

Latest news